Lex financiaria:
the market for OTC derivatives

Leading researcher:

Johan Horst:

Participating researcher:

Sebastian Eickenjäger

Since the recent financial crisis, the law of international financial markets in general and of financial derivatives that are traded over the counter (OTC) in particular became the focus of widespread discussions on the reform of the legal infrastructure of these markets and about proper prudential oversight. The market for OTC derivatives is generally characterized as being particularly volatile and prone to systemic risk and contagion. Only recently has legal scholarship started to examine the legal structures of these markets, which are predominantly made up of private standardized documentation (Morgan 2008, Gelpern and Gulati 2012, Biggins and Scott 2011). The International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA) is at the center of the legal infrastructure of these markets. Drawing on approaches such as the legal theory of finance (Pistor 2013) and socio-legal analyses in transnational financial markets (Riles 2011) this subproject will systemize the transnational legal forces in the ISDA regime with respect to its rule-making acitivity (legislative), its adjudicatory bodies, particularly the Determination Committees (judicial) and their various forms of contract-based enforcement mechanisms (executive).

At the same time, the financial crisis has triggered discussions on the negative externalities and destabilizing effects of those markets on other sectors of society. The build-up of systemic risk in these markets threatens to undermine other sectors, calling into question how and to what extent private rule-making must be responsive to the demands of other legal and social arenas. For heterodox-economic surveys suggest that the legal structure of these markets may be inherently prone to the build-up of systemic risk and crises, seriously undermining its efficiency.

But this subproject also takes into account lesser noticed conflicts, such as the problem that decisions taken within this market can have disastrous effects on human societal and ecological spheres (Dowell-Jones and Kinley 2011). The decision of the ISDA Credit Derivatives Determination Committee to declare a credit event with respect to derivatives of Greek and Argentine government bonds in the wake of the sovereign debt crisis and the ISDAfix-scandal are but two examples of this, posing serious challenges to the demands for justice of transnational financial rule-making. Finally, the subproject will take up the discussion on the democratization of financial markets in order to explore the fundamental question of legitimacy. Drawing on the normative dimension of the concept of transnational force, the subproject will explore avenues for legitimizing financial markets that have massive distributional effects.

back to overview

relevant publications

Article

2015
Johan Horst
Lex Financiaria. Das transnationale Finanzmarktrecht der International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA)
Archiv des Völkerrechts 4/2015, pp. 461-500.

Book chapter

2016
Sebastian Eickenjäger
Horizontal Effects of Human Rights: The EU Proposal for a Non-financial Reporting Framework
in: Fischer-Lescano/Möller (eds.): Transnationalisation of Social Rights. Cambridge: Intersentia, pp. 109-142 (co-authored with Ibrahim Kanalan).

Book chapter

2016
Sebastian Eickenjäger
Non-financial Reporting for Business Enterprises: An Effective Tool to Address Human Rights Violations?
in: Blome/Fischer-Lescano/Franzki/Markard/Oeter (eds.): Contested Regime Collisions. Norm Fragmentation in World Society. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, pp. 226-252.

Lex financiaria:
der Markt für OTC Derivate

Projektleitung:

Johan Horst

Mirarbeit:

Sebastian Eickenjäger

Seit der jüngsten Finanzkrise ist das Recht der internationalen Finanzmärkte und insbesondere das Recht außerbörslich (OTC) gehandelter Finanzderivate, in den Fokus einer Diskussion über eine Reform der rechtlichen Infrastruktur sowie die aufsichtsrechtliche Einhegung dieser Märkte gerückt. Die Märkte für OTC-Derivate werden generell als besonders volatil und anfällig für systemische Risiken und Ansteckungseffekte beschrieben. Die rechtliche Struktur dieser Märkte, die hauptsächlich aus privaten, standardisierten Dokumenten besteht, wird erst in jüngerer Zeit verstärkt rechtlich erforscht (Morgan 2008; Gelpern and Gulati 2012, Biggis and Scott 2011). Mit der International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA) bildet eine private Organisation das Zentrum der rechtlichen Infrastruktur dieser Märkte. Unter Bezugnahme auf Ansätze wie die legal theory of finance (Pistor 2013) und rechtssoziologische Analysen (Riles 2011) wird das Teilprojekt Lex Financiaria die transnationalen Rechtskräfte im ISDA Regime in Bezug auf Rechtserzeugung (legislativ), Adjudikation insbesondere der Determination Committees (judikativ) und die unterschiedlichen vertragsbasierten Durchsetzungsmechanismen (exekutiv) systematisieren.

Die Finanzkrise hat zugleich grundlegende Fragen nach negativen Externalitäten und destabilisierenden Effekten der Finanzmärkte auf andere gesellschaftliche Bereiche aufgeworfen. So belegt der Aufbau systemischer Risiken auf diesen Märkten, dass sich auch private Normgenerierungsprozesse gegenüber den Forderungen andere rechtlicher und sozialer Arenen verantworten müssen. Vor allem heterodoxe ökonomische Analysen legen zudem nahe, dass den rechtlichen Strukturen finanzieller Märkte aus sich heraus Volatilitäten und systemische Risiken erzeugen, die erhebliche Zweifel an der Effizienz dieser Märkte aufkommen lassen. Das Teilprojekt Lex Financiaria nimmt darüber hinaus auch die bisher weniger beachteten Auswirkungen auf menschliche, gesellschaftliche und ökologische gesellschaftliche Umwelten in den Blick (Dowell-Jones and Kinley 2011).  Die Entscheidung eines ISDA Credit Derivatives Determination Committee, ein Kreditereignis in Bezug auf griechische und argentinische Staatsanleihen zu erklären und der sog. ISDAfix-Skandal, bei dem es um den Vorwurf der Manipulation des Referenzzinswerts ISDAfix geht, sind nur zwei Beispiel, die belegen, dass die Erwartung an eine gerechte Finanzmarktordnung vor ernsthaften Herausforderungen steht.

Schließlich wird das Teilprojekt die Diskussion einer Demokratisierung der Finanzmärkte aufnehmen um der grundlegenden Frage der Legitimation derselben nachzugehen. Ausgehend von der normativen Dimension des Konzepts der transnationalen Rechtskraft sollen mögliche Wege einer Legitimierung der rechtlichen Infrastruktur von Märkten sondiert werden, die eine derart massive Auswirkung auf die gesellschaftliche Wohlstandsverteilung haben.

 

zurück zur Übersicht

Relevante Publikationen

Aufsatz

2015
Johan Horst
Lex Financiaria. Das transnationale Finanzmarktrecht der International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA)
Archiv des Völkerrechts 4/2015, S. 461-500.

Beitrag

2016
Sebastian Eickenjäger
Horizontal Effects of Human Rights: The EU Proposal for a Non-financial Reporting Framework
in: Fischer-Lescano/Möller (Hrsg.): Transnationalisation of Social Rights. Cambridge: Intersentia, S. 109-142 (gemeinsam mit Ibrahim Kanalan).

Beitrag

2016
Sebastian Eickenjäger
Non-financial Reporting for Business Enterprises: An Effective Tool to Address Human Rights Violations?
in: Blome / Fischer-Lescano / Franzki / Markard / Oeter (Hrsg.): Contested Regime Collisions. Norm Fragmentation in World Society. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, S. 226-252.