Lex digitalis:
the regulation of the internet

Leading Researcher:

Andreas Fischer-Lescano

Participating Researcher:

Canelle Lavite

The lex digitalis is another legal arena where new forms of rule-making are subject to a broad societal discussion about the normative challenges of transnational law. The lex digitalis is shaped by a variety of different institutions. The central actor of this multi-stakeholder governance schema is the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and its Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP). The sub-project on the lex digitalis will draw on existing foundational works in order to systemize the hybrid transnational legal forces of the lex digitalis, but it will also enlarge their scope, in particular, with reference to recent debates on legal policy and normative aspects. These debates recently culminated in the NETmundial Global Multi-stakeholder Meeting on the Future of Internet Governance which took place in São Paolo, Brazil, in May 2014.

Against this background, the sub-project will identify the core normative conflicts of the lex digitalis. A preliminary assessment shows that eroding the principle of network neutrality would seriously weaken the barrier between economic influence and political governance of the lex digitalis. Further core themes will include the challenges posed by an ever expanding state security and intelligence apparatus and the role of private companies (Google, Facebook, etc.) in this sector. In particular, large-scale data mining have become usual operational means for the purposes of governmental surveillance or advertising, while digitalization of the correspondent processes has contributed to their opacity. The influence of these actors calls into question the democratic accountability of such processes as well as the protection of fundamental digital rights, inter alia, the right to privacy and the integrity of information and communication processes in the lex digitalis, thereby undermining the normative demand for justice in the arena.

The erosion of fundamental digital rights also poses serious risks for processes of democratic legitimation. This is also reflected in the recent debate on whistleblowing, where private interests collide with the need for public disclosure of information as a requirement for participatory and democratic decision-making. The research will address these fundamental normative challenges of the lex digitalis, in particular, the questions regarding the violation of individual and collective rights and the implementation of democratic structures within the specific framework of the lex digitalis. Here, participatory aspects, the problem of accessibility and the creation of anaudience in spaces for contestation will be the starting points for the elaboration of the normative dimension of transnational force of law

back to overview

relevant publications

Article

2014
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Der Kampf um die Internetverfassung
Juristenzeitung 69, pp. 965-974.

Article

2016
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Internationalrechtliche Regulierung des Whistleblowing. Anpassungsbedarf im deutschen Recht
Arbeit und Recht 64, pp. 4-9 and pp. 48-57.

Book chapter

2016
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Putting proportionality in proportion: whistleblowing in transnational law
in: Blome / Fischer-Lescano / Franzki / Markard / Oeter (eds.): Contested Regime Collisions. Norm Fragmentation in World Society. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, pp. 324-346.

Talk

2016
Cannelle Lavite
Les lanceurs d'alerte: coupalbe ou héros? Comment améliorer leur protection en Europe et ou Luxembourg
Talk for Collectif Tax Justice Lëtzebuerg (Luxemburg).

Interview

2016
Cannelle Lavite
Snowden, Manning, Deltour - Snowden, Manning, Deltour - muss de Schutz vu Whistleblower verbessert ginn?
Radio interview, French. Radio 100,7 (Luxemburg)

Lex digitalis:
die Regulierung des Internets

Projektleitung:

Andreas Fischer-Lescano

Mitarbeit:

Canelle Lavite

Auch im Bereich der lex digitalis sind neue Formen der Regelschaffung Gegenstand breiter gesellschaftlicher Diskussionen über die normativen Herausforderungen für ein transnationales Recht. Die lex digitalis ist von einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Institutionen geprägt, unter anderem von der Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) und der dazu gehörigen Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP). Das Teilprojekt zur lex digitalis wird, aufbauend auf bereits bestehenden grundlegenden Arbeiten, die hybriden transnationalen Rechtskräfte in dem Feld systematisieren und darüber hinaus auf jüngste Debatten zur Rechtspolitik und auf normative Dimensionen eingehen. Diese Debatten haben ihren vorläufigen Höhepunkt im “NETmundial Global Multi-stakeholder Meeting on the Future of Internet Governance” gefunden, welches im Mai 2014 in São Paolo, Brasilien, stattfand.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wird das Teilprojekt die zentralen normativen Konflikte im Bereich der lex digitalis identifizieren. Eine vorläufige Einschätzung zeigt, dass eine Erosion des Prinzips der Netzwerkneutralität die Grenze zwischen wirtschaftlicher Einflussnahme und politischer Regelung der lex digitalis erheblich unterminieren würde. Weitere zu untersuchende Themen sind die Herausforderungen, die sich angesichts eines sich immer weiter ausbreiteten Staatssicherheits- und Geheimdienstapparats stellen und die Rolle privater Unternehmen (Google, Facebook, etc.) in dem Bereich. Insbesondere die Auswertung umfangreicher Datenmengen zu Überwachungs- oder Werbezwecken ist inzwischen gängige Praxis, wobei die Digitalisierung dieser Prozesse zu ihrer Undurchsichtigkeit beigetragen hat. Der Einfluss der genannten Akteure gefährdet die demokratische Kontrolle der Prozesse und grundlegende digitale Rechte, wie zum Beispiel das Recht auf Privatsphäre, sowie die Integrität von Informationen und Kommunikationsprozessen und untergräbt damit normative Ansprüche innerhalb des Rechtsbereiches.

Die Erosion grundlegender digitaler Rechte bedeutet gleichzeitig ein Risiko für den Prozess demokratischer Legitimation. Diese Tendenz spiegelt sich in den Debatten zu Whistleblowing wieder. Hier kollidieren Sicherheitsinteressen mit der Notwendigkeit, Informationen offen zu legen, die sich aus einem auf Teilnahme und demokratischer Mitbestimmung basierendem Entscheidungsprozess ergibt. Das Teilprojekt zur lex digitalis wird diesen normativen Herausforderungen der lex digitalis thematisieren, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Verletzung individueller und kollektiver Rechte und die Implementierung demokratischer Strukturen. In diesem Kontext bilden Aspekte der Teilhabe, das Problem der Zugänglichkeit und die Schaffung einer Gegenöffentlichkeit, die Ausgangspunkte für die Erarbeitung einer normativen Dimension einer transnationalen Rechtskraft.

zurück zur Übersicht

Relevante Publikationen

Aufsatz

2016
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Internationalrechtliche Regulierung des Whistleblowing. Anpassungsbedarf im deutschen Recht
Arbeit und Recht 64, 4-9 und 48-57.

Aufsatz

2014
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Der Kampf um die Internetverfassung
Juristenzeitung 69, S. 965-974.

Beitrag

2016
Andreas Fischer-Lescano
Putting proportionality in proportion: whistleblowing in transnational law
in: Blome / Fischer-Lescano / Franzki / Markard / Oeter (Hrsg.): Contested Regime Collisions. Norm Fragmentation in World Society. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, S. 324-346.

Interview

2016
"Snowden, Manning, Deltour - muss der Schutz von Whisteblowern verbessert werden?"
Radiointerview, französisch. Radio 100,7 (Luxemburg)

Vortrag

2016
Cannelle Lavite
Les lanceurs d'alerte: coupalbe ou héros? Comment améliorer leur protection en Europe et ou Luxembourg
Vortrag auf Einladung des Collectif Tax Justice Lëtzebuerg (Luxemburg).